A vegan, dairy-free KitKat is coming your way and it’s great news for those who are vegan or lactose-intolerant

Vegans and lactose-intolerant people have something to cheer about today. Nestlé has confirmed that it is launching a vegan KitKat chocolate.

Called KitKat V, this new dairy-free chocolate bar will be launched later this year in several countries before a wider roll-out.


Developed by Nestlé’s confectionery research and development center in York, UK, KitKat V is a response to requests for a vegan KitKat.

Alexander von Maillot is Head of Confectionery at Nestlé says: “…so we’re delighted to be able to make that wish come true.”

“I can’t wait for people to be able to try this amazingly tasty new KitKat. This is a product for everyone who wants a little more plant-based in their life!”

Taste was a key factor for the chocolate maker in the new vegan KitKat, according to Louise Barrett, Head of the Nestlé Confectionery Product Technology Center in York.

“We used our expertise in ingredients, together with a test and learn approach, to create a delicious vegan alternative to our original chocolate KitKat.”

Besides KitKat, Nestlé has already launched plant-based alternatives to dairy made from rice, oat, soy, coconut, pea and almonds across categories, including non-dairy ice cream, coffee creamers, rice- and oat-based drinks, pea-based beverages, plant-based cappuccinos and lattes, a vegan condensed milk alternative, as well as a range of non-dairy cheese to complement existing plant-based burgers.

Nestlé says that KitKat V is certified vegan, and made from 100% sustainable cocoa sourced through the Nestlé Cocoa Plan in conjunction with the Rainforest Alliance. There hasn’t been any official announcement on which countries KitKat V will be launched at first at the moment.